Russia to Exempt Visa for Malaysian Tourists


The Russian government is considering adding Malaysia in a list of eligible countries for visa-free travel along with Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia.

“We are working toward establishing a visa-free regime with countries of the Middle East and South Asia. We have proposed the full abolition of visas to Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, and Malaysia,” Russian Economic Development Minister Maxim Reshetnikov said on a panel at the Eastern Economic Forum, as cited by Sputnik.

The visa exemption is expected to lure more tourists to Russia, especially premium-class ones.

Russia in August 2022 added Vietnam to a list of 55 countries whose nationals are eligible for a single-entry e-visa, along with Cambodia and Myanmar.

Source: VN Express